Resolutions

A Christian whose life is firmly based on God’s word is like….

This was my question this morning in my devotional along with the reading of Psalm 1.  The question really got me thinking.  I sat here with my prayer journal in hand, my cat Loki draped across both of my arms, my mom cooking donuts in the kitchen while the children slept, and I was never expecting my thoughts and reflections to bring me to write a blog post, yet here I am.  So what is a Christian firmly rooted in the Lord like?

Are they like a fish swimming happily in water whose only care is where their next meal comes from?

Are they like a pig in the mud?  Happy to be rolling around and staying cool in the wet, sticky, cooling mud?

Are they like my big, fat cat Loki?  His only concerns are food, water, a warm lap, and to be doted on with snuggles and lots of petting.

Or are they something more?

After thinking about it, and pausing ever so often to reply to mom and wait for the cat to move so I could write in my journal, I thought of what that type of Christian was to me.  I thought of those in my life that I KNOW without a doubt, are rooted so deeply in God’s word that it just spills out of them.

Like my dear friend Victoria.  This precious, amazing, young woman has had a year that has been unkind in many ways.  She has had one loved one after another win their battle with this world and head home to be with the Lord; her best friend to breast cancer, aunt, niece, and so many more…. all the while still reeling from the loss of an earthly Father, Father-in-law, and many of those from our church.  Yet this beautiful soul goes on, day by day, working at Hospice, a job that is draining both emotionally and physically, leading the youth at our church, and bending over backwards to help everyone and anyone.  She is ALWAYS positive and has plenty of hugs, laughs, smiles, and joy to give to even the most depressed person.

Or my precious friend Greta, who not only has battled and won the battle against breast cancer, but now watches as her rock, her husband, battles not 1 but 2 types of cancer.  She always has a bounce in her step, a smile on her face, and a kind word in her heart…. even when she appears to be up against a brick wall known as the big C.  She has come through more than most people will ever battle, yet she still is positive and praises the Lord with each and every breath.

Or an amazing woman named Tracie…. This woman is nothing short of a deeply rooted Christian.  She watched as her childhood sweetheart, her husband, lost his battle with cancer.  She is now left with 2 teenage sons and an empty hole where her sweet husband, Wes, was.  Yet through each and every step, she continues to rely on the Lord for strength, support, love, and guidance each and every day.  Her heart is aching for her earthly soulmate, yet it is filled with the love, peace, and joy that only the Lord can bring.  She has never once (that I have seen) been angry with the Lord for taking Wes home, never said anything but “It’s all in the Lord’s hands”, and praises Him with her every word.

For me, a Christian whose life is firmly based on God’s word is like a cup overflowing with joy and peace, no matter the circumstances.

So, what does the title “resolutions” have to do with any of this???

“Blessed is the one who does not walk in step with the wicked or stand in the way that sinners take or sit in the company of mockers, but whose delight is in the law of the Lord, and who meditates on his law day and night.” Psalm‬ ‭1:1-2‬ ‭

We all have resolutions come the first day of the new year.  Most of us make them and keep them for the first few days, and then they fall by the wayside.  Next January, we resolve to do it all over again, only to repeat the same behavior.  Rather than making one of those resolutions that I have made over and over again, why don’t I make one that will actually matter this year, that will make me a better person and help to shine the light onto the Lord’s word and His will.

So this year, I want to be that Christian, deeply rooted, listening to His voice, and following His will for my life. I want His to use me for the betterment of His kingdom and to grow in my relationship with Him. I want to be like those who shine His light through the pain, through the every day life, like Victoria, Tracie, and Greta… And the countless others who bless my life each and every day. I don’t want to be chaff!!!

So, what are your resolutions?

Leave a Reply

